New toy, and, a holiday!

Hello everyone,

Apologies again, it’s going to be some time before I can post my next tutorial. I’m off to Toronto for a few days and a little mini-holiday. It’ll be nice to get out of the city and recharge my batteries!

wacom cintiq 21uxBut coming soon, I’ve got a doozy for you guys đŸ™‚ I just purchased my dream toy, the Wacom Cintiq 21UX drawing tablet. I got to play with it briefly the other day before bringing it home, and unfortunately the monster’s too big for my puny little computer desk! Once I figure out where to put it, I’ll post my initial thoughts and impressions as well as compare it to my tried and true Wacom Intuos 3 tablet. Stay tuned, this is going to be a fun review to put together!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “New toy, and, a holiday!

  1. bortonia says:

    Update: I know it’s been a while since I posted this and you must be thinking, ‘sheesh, is this girl crazy leaving a Cintiq in its box this long?!’

    Here’s the skinny: I was traveling for a few weeks, then once I got back I had to tackle the issue of where on earth to put the tablet as my desk was nowhere near big enough. So, the other day I ran out and bought a small computer desk on castors so I could easily move the tablet to wherever I needed it to go (as it’s far too big/heavy for me to move around myself).

    After building the desk, I was so stoked last week to get it up and running when I ran into another roadblock: My trusty iMac wouldn’t hook up to the Cintiq’s monitor cables and none of the provided adaptors that came with the tablet would work. ARGH.

    I was able to borrow several adaptors from my office to try out. Thankfully, one of them worked right off the bat… Though I also had to connect it to yet another adaptor that came with the Cintiq. Read: 2 SEPARATE ADAPTORS were required just to get the thing up and running.

    And here’s where the real fun begins. I’m now having major issues getting my Display settings right. It seems like whenever I try to change the settings to allow me to work on both my iMac and my Cintiq (like a normal dual display) all Hell breaks loose. I either can’t work on one machine or the other, and of course all my navigational elements end up frozen on the non-active screen, leaving me with nothing to do except shut down the Cintiq and try again. I don’t know if this is because I have my Intuos tablet hooked up – I’ll see if I can now bring a mouse home from work to troubleshoot. Sigh.

    I’m working on this, I promise. I’m pretty sure that I’ve now set the record for ‘longest time passed without using a new Cintiq tablet’!

  2. Rype says:

    I’m interested to see your comments on the Cintiq. I want to get one, but it would be nice to hear from an Illustrator user. For now the Intous4 works great.

Leave a Reply

